Election of 2024-25 Board of Directors



FPS Annual General Meeting - April 13, 2024

Board of Directors

The Board shall consist of a maximum of **12 directors**, serving a **1-year term** (June 1, 2024 - May 31, 2025).

The following persons are disqualified from being an elected Director of the Corporation:

- a. A person who is not an individual;
- b. A person who is under eighteen (18) years old;
- c. A person who has an undischarged bankruptcy;
- d. A person who is deemed incapable of managing property under the *Mental Health Act*.
- e. A person who is a member of an executive or full-time employee of the University of Ottawa Students' Union (UOSU) or the Graduate Students Association (GSAED), or a member of the UOSU Board of Administration or GSAED Council; or
- f. A person who is an employee of the Corporation or owns or invests in a company contracted by the Corporation.

Community Representative (max 3)

No less than one (1) and no more than three (3) seats will be filled by members of the Ottawa community at large who possess requisite professional experience in, including but not limited to, business, marketing, law, public relations, or publishing.

Devin Beauregard

- Part-time professor/instructor in political science and public administration at uOttawa
- Long-time illustrator and contributor with the Fulcrum (2004-2015)
- Experience in research and policy with several public sector organizations
- BSocSc, MA, PhD (uOttawa)

Ryan Pistorius

- Practising lawyer currently working with Gowling WLG's Advocacy group
- Former producer and host of The Law School Show podcast
- Former senior editor and online editor with the Ottawa Law Review and former VP (English) of the Common Law Student Society
- BAH (Queen's), JD (uOttawa), LLM (Queen Mary University of London)

Continuity Representative (max 1)

A maximum of one (1) seat will be filled by an individual who previously held any elected seat on the Board as a Director.

Emma Godmere

- Ottawa-based radio producer, working out of CBC's parliamentary bureau, part of the team bringing CBC Radio's *The House* to national airwaves every Saturday morning
- Spent seven years at CBC in Toronto, producing interviews and weekly panels on q, writing scripts for national radio hosts, and guest-hosting shows on Radio 2 and Radio 3.
- Former Editor-in-Chief and News Editor with the Fulcrum
- Joined FPS Board in 2022, currently serving as Chair of the Board and Chair of the Marketing and Community Relations Committee

Contributor Representative (max 2)

No less than one (1) and no more than two (2) seats will be filled by individuals who were contributors with staff status in the previous five (5) years. This individual must abstain from contributing to the Fulcrum for the duration of their term in any capacity recompensed or otherwise.

Keelan Buck

- Procedural Clerk with the House of Commons administration, providing non-partisan, expert service to MPs, their staff, and the public
- Former contributor with the Fulcrum, focus on long-form features pieces (2018-19)
- Joined FPS Board in 2022, currently serving as President of the FPS and Chair of the Governance Committee
- BSocSc, MA in public administration (uOttawa)

Siena Domaradzki-Kim

- Marketing and communications professional with a background in journalism, currently Social Media & Website Coordinator with Doctors Without Borders (MSF)
- Former contributor with the Fulcrum (2020-21) and radio writer and host with CKCU and CIVL radio (2016-2020)
- Former director on the FPS Board (2021-22)
- Bachelor of Journalism and Film (Carleton),
 MLitt (University of St Andrews)

Student Representative (max 4)

No less than three (3) and no more than four (4) seats will be filled by current students of the University of Ottawa who have active valid student numbers and are registered for at least one (1) class at the University of Ottawa for at least half their term. These students must not have ever been an employee of the Corporation.

Gabrielle Douglas

- Pursuing BSc in Biomedical Sciences at uOttawa
- VP Social of the Black STEM Student Association (BSSA) and an executive with the Nigerian Student Association at uOttawa
- Volunteer with Let's Talk Science, engaging with students through hands-on activities, workshops and events

Ria Kunkulol

- Pursuing BCom in Accounting at uOttawa
- Accounts Receivable Clerk with Public Services and Procurement Canada, working alongside accountants
- Former literacy tutor with the Learning
 Disabilities Association of Ottawa-Carleton
- Joined the FPS Board in 2023, currently serving as Treasurer and Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee

University Representative (max 1)

A maximum of one (1) seat will be filled by an individual who is employed by the University of Ottawa, preferably as a faculty member, for at least half of their term, and possesses requisite professional experience as outlined in Section 3.4b of this By-law.

Bhanu Bhakta Acharya

- Part-time professor with the Department of Communications at uOttawa
- Author and co-author of several books, freelance contributor with The Kathmandu Post
- Member of the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ)
- MA in Journalism (Purbanchal University, Nepal), MA in Communication, PhD in Digital Communication (uOttawa)

Fulcrum Alumnus (max 1)

A maximum of one (1) seat will be filled by an individual who was a previous employee of the Corporation and possesses requisite professional experience.

No candidates